My 5 All Time Favourite Books

the hearing trumpet

1. The Hearing Trumpet by Leonora Carrington

This book is beautifully written. Leonora is famous for her work with the surrealist movement. Part of the reason i love this book, I must confess is because I’m such a fan of the woman behind the book.

The book follows one woman who is a little paranoid. We see her descend into full blown madness with Leonora’s own surreal twist. A must read for anyone who likes well written, slightly odd classic novels.

alice in wonderland

2. Alice’s Adventures in wonderland by Lewis Carroll

The thing I like about this book is that it is suggestively dark without ever being explicitly so. A much loved read for anyone who wants a trip to Wonderland.

the-prime-of-miss-jean-brodie

3. The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie by Muriel spark

This book will have you howling with laughter. The impressionable young girls in the book are sure to resonate with all women. I love this book because Jean Brodie is one of my favourite heroines without ever even doing anything overtly brave.

the bell jar

4, The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

Another classic book depicting one woman’s fight against depression. I love the way Sylvia explains the way she sees the world. From the fascinating and bustling New York city social life she led to her time in psychiatric care, this novel never seems bitter, though she has lots of reason to be so and that is why I place it above similar books such as Prozac Nation and Girl, Interrupted.

cuckoo clock heart

The Boy With the Cuckoo Clock Heart by Mathias Malzieu

This is a book that follows the Edward Scissorhands genre quite closely. It has some quite tender moments in it and is quite a page turner. Plus it can be read in the space of a few hours because it’s quite a short book.

cover

6. The Fairytale Scripture by Katie Gaughan

Finally, I have included my very own book. The thing I love about my book is that it aims toget young people thinking critically and for themselves (and the stories not too bad either). If you like the books listed above then you may well enjoy this novel. I took a little bit of inspiration from all of my favourite books just as any good author should!

Thanks for reading.

Katie

xxx

Leave a Reply

